Ufff ¡qué frío hace! ¿Estarás acostumbrada, no?

Every time it’s ‘cold’ in Sevilla, I know that at least one person will tell me that I am used to the cold as I am from a cold country. Sometimes I smile and nod as a polite English girl would, and I say, “Pues la verdad es que si”…. The majority of the time I screech “¡Estoy en España porque no me gusta el frío!” I suffer in the cold. My hands turn red-blue-purple, I turn antipática; I am more ‘friolera’ than most Spanish people I know. And I miss some good-old English central-heating. Yet, through the cold chill shines a crisp sun that  reminds me daily of why I am here. Darkness makes me a little sad; the Spanish are very privileged with their glorious climate. So, next time someone tells me I’m acostumbrada al frío, I will say “¡Noooo! Estoy enganchada al sol.”

2 comments on “Ufff ¡qué frío hace! ¿Estarás acostumbrada, no?

  1. Its the summer here in New Zealand and when I complain about it being hot, my family will remind me that it gets hotter in Utah, where I am from. I just have to nod politely and remind them that Hot is hot, just because it isn’t 45 degrees outside doesn’t mean its not hot.

    • Totally! Though I do appreciate that people are just being ‘nice’ or (sometimes) making small-talk when they say things like that. It’s just quite amusing when it gets said over and over again. Talking of heat and 40 plus degrees… that’s not uncommon in summer where I am! New Zealand is a beautiful country and also very chilly in the winter.

Leave a Reply

